Upon the approval of the Emory University Board of Trustees, Dean Jan Love has announced the appointments of three Candler faculty members to named professorships, academia’s highest recognition for scholarly achievement and distinction.

alonsoAntonio Eduardo Alonso has been appointed Aquinas Assistant Professor of Theology and Culture. With ties to Candler’s Aquinas Center of Theology, the Aquinas professorship is intended for a scholar whose research is compatible with the Aquinas Center’s mission to provide “a Catholic scholarly presence, ecumenical in spirit, for the benefit of the university, the Archdiocese and the region” and to assist “inquiring persons to enhance their knowledge of the Catholic tradition and of the intellectual, spiritual and moral life of the Church.”

hylenSusan E. Hylen has been appointed Almar H. Shatford Professor of New Testament. Established in 1956 by Genevieve Sewell Shatford in memory of her husband, the Shatford professorship was the first independently endowed chair of homiletics in Candler’s history. In the official documentation Mrs. Shatford recognized that the purpose of the chair might need to change across time and allowed for such. In discussion with the full professors who hold named or endowed professorships at Candler, Dean Love decided to change the designation to be more generic for a highly deserving faculty member in any field.

lemonJoel M. LeMon has been appointed The Rev. Dr. Donald Allen Harp, Jr. Distinguished Associate Professor of Biblical Studies. Named in honor of the late Don Harp 66T, Candler alumnus and former pastor/theologian-in-residence at the school, the professorship was established in 2021 for the purpose of supporting an outstanding expert in the area of biblical studies at Candler. LeMon is the inaugural holder of this chair. Read more.

“Tony Alonso, Susan Hylen and Joel LeMon are wonderful examples of the Candler faculty’s continued dedication to excellence in scholarship, teaching, and service,” Love says. “We congratulate them on this well-deserved recognition.”