Board of Advisors

The Board of Advisors of Candler School of Theology is charged with advising the dean and senior staff on topics of strategic significance to Candler’s mission, particularly those related to the church, the communities Candler serves, and theological education. The Board is also charged with being ambassadors for the School and may be called on to review and offer reflection on strategic planning, curriculum, and topics raised by the dean and senior leadership, as well as matters brought by members of the Board.

Additionally, members may be called on to assist Candler School of Theology with student recruitment and fundraising. As ambassadors, the Board of Advisors assists Candler School of Theology by sharing information about the School with families, friends, colleagues and the public in hopes that these external constituencies will better understand Candler’s mission to educate faithful and creative leaders for the church’s ministries in the world. The members will meet twice annually and shall have no policymaking or governing authority.


Board of Advisors 2023-24
The Rev. Dr. William Oslin Britt IV
Peachtree Road United Methodist Church
The Rev. Gina Campbell
Worship Director, Washington National Cathedral (Retired)
The Rev. Carol Thornton Cavin-Dillon
West End United Methodist Church
Dr. Wallace Davis Chappell, Jr.
Brentwood United Methodist Church
The Rev. Miyoshi Karen Kagiyama
North Georgia UMC Annual Conference
The Rev. Dr. Will Dyer
First Baptist Church
The Rev. William Edward Flippin, Jr.
Evangelical Lutheran Church
Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson
North Georgia UMC Annual Conference
Bishop Janice Riggle Huie
Texas UMC Annual Conference
Mrs. Jill Cornelius Irvin
Deloitte & Touche USA LLP
Bishop Teresa E. Jefferson-Snorton
Fifth Episcopal District, CME Church
Mr. John Allen Mast
Truist Financial Corp.
Mr. H. Bruce McEver
Berkshire Capital Securities LLC
Jere W. Morehead, J.D.
University of Georgia
Mr. Craig Mullins
Mullins Associates
Dr. Walker L. Ray, I
Physician (Retired)
Dr. Kenneth L. Samuel
Victory Church
Mrs. Karen Webster Parks
St. James Alpharetta UMC
Susan Bell Morris
Independent Board Member, Rollins, Inc.


Ex officio
Dr. Richard Manly Adams, Jr.
Margaret A. Pitts Distinguished Director of Pitts Theology Library
Sarah Bogue
Associate Professor in the Practice of the History of Christianity and Senior Director of Digital Learning
Dr. Ryan Paul Bonfiglio
Executive Director of The Candler Foundry
Dr. Lori Cromwell
Chief Business Officer
Mr. Bill Doerr
Assistant Dean of Advancement and Alumni Engagement
The Rev. Dr. Teresa L. Fry Brown
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Mrs. Laurel Davis Hanna
Director of Communications
The Rev. Allison Henderson-Brooks
Assistant Dean of Students
Dean Jan Love
Mary Lee Hardin Willard Dean
Dr. Samuel J. Martinez
Associate Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid
The Rev. Dr. Brett Opalinski
Assistant Dean of Methodist Studies
Robyn Pollette
Chief of Staff and Senior Manager of Faculty Development
The Rev. Dr. Ted A. Smith
Associate Dean of Faculty
The Rev. Dr. Khalia J. Williams
Associate Dean of Worship and Spiritual Formation
Joanne Solis-Walker
Associate Dean and Professor in the Practice of Leadership