Candler Faculty Directory by Area

Our distinguished faculty focus on four main areas of study: Biblical Studies, History and Interpretation of Christianity, Christianity and Culture, and Church and Ministry.

Biblical Studies

Through study of the Bible and the history and culture in which it developed, students in biblical studies learn to understand and interpret biblical literature. As students gain competency in exegesis and exposition, they become prepared for the roles of proclaimers and interpreters of the Bible.

Chair: Susan E. Hylen

Faculty Thumbnail

Eve-Marie Becker

Distinguished Visiting Professor of New Testament

Email: eve-marie.becker@emory.edu

Telephone:

Faculty Thumbnail

M. Patrick Graham

Librarian and Margaret A. Pitts Professor of Theological Bibliography

Email: libmpg@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4165

Faculty Thumbnail

Carl R. Holladay

C.H. Candler Professor of New Testament

Email: carl.holladay@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4017

Faculty Thumbnail

Susan E. Hylen

Associate Professor of New Testament

Email: susan.hylen@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.3378

Faculty Thumbnail

Steven J. Kraftchick

Director, General and Advanced Studies; Professor in the Practice of New Testament Interpretation

Email: skraftc@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.2883

Faculty Thumbnail

Joel M. LeMon

Associate Professor of Old Testament

Email: jmlemon@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4181

Faculty Thumbnail

Carol A. Newsom

Charles Howard Candler Professor of Old Testament

Email: cnewsom@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4183

Faculty Thumbnail

Brent A. Strawn

Professor of Old Testament; Director of the Doctor of Ministry Program

Email: brent.strawn@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4153

Faculty Thumbnail

Walter T. Wilson

Professor of New Testament

Email: walter.wilson@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4053

Faculty Thumbnail

Jacob L. Wright

Associate Professor of Hebrew Bible

Email: jacob.wright@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4157


Click here to close

History and Interpretation of Christianity

Students in History and Interpretation of Christianity study both the institutional and doctrinal history of the church. As students work through the discipline of contemporary theology to develop a theological position, the insight and experience of the past strengthens the students’ dedication to serving the needs of the present and future.

Chair: Jehu J. Hanciles

Faculty Thumbnail

Anthony A. Briggman

Assistant Professor of the History of Early Christianity

Email: anthony.a.briggman@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6342

Faculty Thumbnail

Noel Leo Erskine

Professor of Theology and Ethics

Email: nerskin@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4175

Faculty Thumbnail

Jehu J. Hanciles

D.W. and Ruth Brooks Associate Professor of World Christianity

Email: jjhanciles@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4219

Faculty Thumbnail

Steffen Lösel

Associate Professor of Systematic Theology

Email: sloesel@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.2816

Faculty Thumbnail

Rex D. Matthews

Professor in the Practice of Historical Theology and Wesleyan Studies

Email: rex.matthews@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6345

Faculty Thumbnail

Joy Ann McDougall

Associate Professor of Systematic Theology

Email: jamcdou@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6808

Faculty Thumbnail

David S. Pacini

Professor of Historical Theology; Director of the Master of Theological Studies Program

Email: dpacini@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4052

Faculty Thumbnail

L. Edward Phillips

Associate Professor of Worship and Liturgical Theology; Coordinator of the Initiative in Religious Practices and Practical Theology

Email: lphill6@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.1257

Faculty Thumbnail

Philip Lyndon Reynolds

C.H. Candler Professor of Medieval Christianity; Aquinas Professor of Historical Theology

Email: lreynol@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.0813

Faculty Thumbnail

R. Kendall Soulen

Professor of Systematic Theology

Email: kendall.soulen@emory.edu

Telephone:

Faculty Thumbnail

Jonathan Strom

Professor of Church History; Associate Dean of Faculty and Academic Affairs; Director of International Initiatives

Email: jstrom@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4168

Faculty Thumbnail

Kevin M. Watson

Assistant Professor of Wesleyan and Methodist Studies

Email: kevin.watson@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4194


Click here to close

Christianity and Culture

Christianity and Culture aims to help students better understand the mission of the Christian church in the contemporary world. It therefore seeks to inform and develop their understanding of self, society, and church through ethical reflection, social analysis, and study of other religious and cultural traditions and ideologies. As an intrinsic dimension of this endeavor, the area promotes an ecumenical conception of Christian identity and mission within a global context. Courses in Christianity and Culture are offered in the fields of Christian ethics, the sociology of religion, religion and personality, missiology, world religions, black church studies, and women’s studies.

Chair: Elizabeth M. Bounds

Faculty Thumbnail

Elizabeth M. Bounds

Associate Professor of Christian Ethics

Email: ebounds@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4172

Faculty Thumbnail

L. Wesley de Souza

Arthur J. Moore Associate Professor in the Practice of Evangelism; Director of the Master of Theology Program

Email: l.wesley.de.souza@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.7196

Faculty Thumbnail

Gregory C. Ellison, II

Associate Professor of Pastoral Care and Counseling

Email: gelli01@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.7291

Faculty Thumbnail

Noel Leo Erskine

Professor of Theology and Ethics

Email: nerskin@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4175

Faculty Thumbnail

Robert M. Franklin

James T. and Berta R. Laney Professor in Moral Leadership

Email: rmfrank@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4176

Faculty Thumbnail

Jehu J. Hanciles

D.W. and Ruth Brooks Associate Professor of World Christianity

Email: jjhanciles@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4219

Faculty Thumbnail

Timothy P. Jackson

Professor of Christian Ethics

Email: tjack05@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.0818

Faculty Thumbnail

Arun W. Jones

Dan and Lillian Hankey Associate Professor of World Evangelism

Email: arun.w.jones@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.1089

Faculty Thumbnail

Emmanuel Y. Lartey

L. Bevel Jones III Professor of Pastoral Theology, Care, and Counseling

Email: elartey@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6594

Faculty Thumbnail

Jan Love

Dean and Professor of Christianity and World Politics

Email: jlove3@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6324

Faculty Thumbnail

Ellen Ott Marshall

Associate Professor of Christian Ethics and Conflict Transformation

Email: ellen.marshall@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.1214

Faculty Thumbnail

Nichole R. Phillips

Assistant Professor of Sociology, Religion, and Culture

Email: nichole.r.phillips@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4001

Faculty Thumbnail

Ted A. Smith

Associate Professor of Preaching and Ethics

Email: ted.smith@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4231

Faculty Thumbnail

John Snarey

Franklin Parker Professor of Human Development and Ethics

Email: jsnarey@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4185

Faculty Thumbnail

Deanna Ferree Womack

Assistant Professor of History of Religions and Multifaith Relations

Email: deanna.f.womack@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.2974


Click here to close

Church and Ministry

The goal of Church and Ministry is to develop reflective practitioners of ministry, able to respond to situations in which they serve with sensitivity, creativity, skill, and theological integrity. Such development requires dialogical interaction among historical and contemporary ecclesial practice, Scripture and Christian traditions, the social sciences, and the student’s own experience.

Chair: Karen D. Scheib

Faculty Thumbnail

James Abbington

Associate Professor of Church Music and Worship

Email: wabbing@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4602

Faculty Thumbnail

Timothy E. Albrecht

Professor of Church Music; Professor of Music; University Organist

Email: talbrec@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6452

Faculty Thumbnail

Jennifer R. Ayres

Associate Professor of Religious Education; Director of Religious Education Program

Email: jrayres@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6329

Faculty Thumbnail

Anne Burkholder

Associate Dean of Methodist Studies; Professor in the Practice of Ecclesiology and Church Leadership

Email: anne.burkholder@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.1351

Faculty Thumbnail

Elizabeth Corrie

Director, Youth Theological Initiative; Associate Professor in the Practice of Youth Education and Peacebuilding

Email: ecorrie@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.2917

Faculty Thumbnail

L. Wesley de Souza

Arthur J. Moore Associate Professor in the Practice of Evangelism; Director of the Master of Theology Program

Email: l.wesley.de.souza@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.7196

Faculty Thumbnail

Thomas W. Elliott, Jr.

Assistant Professor in the Practice of Practical Theology; Director, Contextual Education II; Director, Teaching Parish Program and Ministry Internships

Email: thomas.elliott@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.3006

Faculty Thumbnail

Gregory C. Ellison, II

Associate Professor of Pastoral Care and Counseling

Email: gelli01@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.7291

Faculty Thumbnail

Teresa L. Fry Brown

Bandy Professor of Preaching

Email: teresa.brown@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4436

Faculty Thumbnail

Larry M. Goodpaster

Bishop-in-Residence

Email: lmgoodpaster@emory.edu

Telephone:

Faculty Thumbnail

Shelby M. Haggray

Director of Baptist Studies Program; Assistant Professor in the Practice of Practical Theology

Email: shelby.martin.haggray@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6350

Faculty Thumbnail

Don Harp

Pastor/Theologian-in-Residence

Email: donh@prumc.org

Telephone: 404.281.0522

Faculty Thumbnail

Toni Belin Ingram

Assistant Professor in the Practice of Practical Theology; Director of Black Church Studies

Email: toni.belin.ingram@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.1105

Faculty Thumbnail

David O. Jenkins

Associate Professor in the Practice of Practical Theology

Email: dojenki@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4161

Faculty Thumbnail

Emmanuel Y. Lartey

L. Bevel Jones III Professor of Pastoral Theology, Care, and Counseling

Email: elartey@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6594

Faculty Thumbnail

Lang Lowrey

Director of the Episcopal Studies Program; Professor in the Practice of Church Leadership

Email: pierce.lang.lowrey.iii@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4023

Faculty Thumbnail

L. Edward Phillips

Associate Professor of Worship and Liturgical Theology; Coordinator of the Initiative in Religious Practices and Practical Theology

Email: lphill6@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.1257

Faculty Thumbnail

P. Alice Rogers

Associate Professor in the Practice of Practical Theology

Email: alice.rogers@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.634.3936

Faculty Thumbnail

Karen D. Scheib

Associate Professor of Pastoral Care and Pastoral Theology

Email: karen.scheib@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.2423

Faculty Thumbnail

S. Ellen Shepard

Assistant Professor in the Practice of Practical Theology; Director of the Program in Women, Theology, and Ministry

Email: ellen.shepard@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4158

Faculty Thumbnail

Ted A. Smith

Associate Professor of Preaching and Ethics

Email: ted.smith@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.4231

Faculty Thumbnail

Khalia J. Williams

Assistant Dean of Worship and Music; Assistant Professor in the Practice of Worship

Email: khalia.j.williams@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.6153

Faculty Thumbnail

Robert W. Winstead

Assistant Professor in the Practice of Practical Theology

Email: bob.winstead@emory.edu

Telephone: 404.727.3842


Click here to close

Faculty Emeriti

Roberta C. Bondi

Professor Emerita of Church History

Email: robondi@emory.edu

Adrienne Carr

Assistant Professor Emerita of Church Education

Email: acarr@emory.edu

John Lynn Carr

Associate Professor Emeritus of Church Ministries

Email: jcarr02@emory.edu

John M. Freeman

Assistant Professor Emeritus of Practical Theology

Email: jfree02@emory.edu

Jon P. Gunnemann

Professor Emeritus of Social Ethics

Email: jgunnem@emory.edu

Charles D. Hackett, Jr.

Professor Emeritus in the Practice of Church Ministries

Email: chacket@emory.edu

Quentin L. Hand

Associate Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Pastoral Counseling

Email:

Manfred Hoffmann

Professor Emeritus of Church History and Historical Theology

Email: mhoff01@emory.edu

E. Brooks Holifield

Charles Howard Candler Professor Emeritus of American Church History

Email: eholifi@emory.edu

Rodney J. Hunter

Professor Emeritus of Pastoral Theology

Email: rhunt02@emory.edu

Thomas G. Long

Bandy Professor Emeritus of Preaching, Director of the Early Career Pastoral Leadership Program

Email: tglong@emory.edu

Walter J. Lowe

Professor Emeritus of Systematic Theology, Former Director of Advanced Studies

Email: wlowe@emory.edu

J. Maxwell Miller

Professor Emeritus of Old Testament

Email:

Donald E. Nichols

Associate Professor Emeritus of Practical Theology

Email: denicho@emory.edu

David L. Petersen

Franklin N. Parker Professor Emeritus of Old Testament

Email: david.petersen@emory.edu

Russell E. Richey

Dean Emeritus, William R. Cannon Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Church History

Email: rrichey@emory.edu

Theodore H. Runyon, Jr.

Professor Emeritus of Systematic Theology

Email: trunyon@emory.edu

Helen Pearson Smith

Professor Emerita of Theology

Email: hpearso@emory.edu

Luther E. Smith, Jr.

Professor Emeritus of Church and Community

Email: luther.smith@emory.edu

M. Thomas Thangaraj

D.W. and Ruth Brooks Professor Emeritus of World Christianity

Email: theomtt@emory.edu

Gene M. Tucker

Professor Emeritus of Old Testament

Email: theogmt@emory.edu

Arthur W. Wainwright

Professor Emeritus of New Testament

Email: awainwr@emory.edu

James L. Waits

Professor Emeritus of Practical Theology

Email:

Theodore R. Weber

Professor Emeritus of Social Ethics

Email: reltrw@emory.edu

Carlton R. Young

Professor Emeritus of Church Music

Email: cyoun02@emory.edu


Click here to close

View all events »