Submit Your Class Notes

Share what’s new and notable in your life with the rest of the Candler community. We report class notes in Connection and in our monthly e-newsletters. Send us your class notes and associated photographs via our online form:


Laurence McCullough Jr. 63T has published Fools, Drunks, and Preachers, a chronicle of his life from the age of 18 until his retirement from United Methodist ministry at the age of 72.

Paul Alan Laughlin 71T 75G retired from his work as professor of religion and philosophy at Otterbein University after 33 years of teaching. He was awarded emeritus faculty status.

Roy R. Riggs 72T retired from the California-Pacific Annual Conference after 40 years of service to churches in Arizona and Southern California. He served as the Chairperson of the Annual Conference Commission on Equitable Compensation and as the President of the Conference Board of Trustees.

Randall B. Martin 73T is the new senior pastor of Broad Street United Methodist Church in Cleveland, Tenn.

Floyd Vernon Chandler 76T received a master of arts in international relations from the University of Oklahoma in May.

Walker Grady Carter III 86T is associate professor of psychiatry and behavioral science at Mercer University School of Medicine. He is also vice chair of the department of psychiatry and assistant dean for academic affairs.

Dennis Livingston 87T was appointed as Hutchinson District Superintendent of the Kansas West Conference of The United Methodist Church.

Henry C. Bass 88T was appointed as Valdosta District Superintendent of the South Georgia Conference of The United Methodist Church.


Jim R. Cabaniss 91T was named chaplain of the General John B. Gordon Chapter of the Stars and Bars in Atlanta.

J. Andrew Bell 92T is the director of the Lakewood Methodist Counseling Center in St. Petersburg, Fla. and executive director of Sunshine State Interfaith Power & Light, which mobilizes faith communities to address the climate crisis and practice care of creation.

David Harris 92T was appointed executive director of The Conley Center for Care, Counseling, and Psychotherapy in Atlanta. He will continue with his psychotherapy practice at the center. He is also a recent past-president of the Georgia Career Development Association.

Pamela Feeser 94T published a book entitled Becoming: A Spiritual Journey. It was awarded second place at the 2012 New York Book Festival in the category of spirituality.

Russell D. Williams 94T is the director of the Brehm School Foundation. The foundation supports Brehm School and OPTIONS Transitions to Independence, which empower students with complex learning disabilities to recognize and achieve their full potential.

John Anderson Simmons III 96T was appointed senior pastor of St. James United Methodist Church in Atlanta. Simmons has served as Director of Ministerial Services in the North Georgia Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church since 2007.

Jefferson Otwell 97T was ordained to the priesthood by the archbishop ordinary of the Anglican Catholic Church's Diocese of the South on September 8 at St. Stephen's Pro-Cathedral in Athens, Georgia.

Kay S. Scarbrough 97T is serving as the Topeka District Superintendent in the Kansas East Conference of The United Methodist Church.


Michael Turner 00T has accepted the position of associate professor of the history of Christianity at Hood Theological Seminary in Salisbury, N.C.

Richard M. Wright 01T has released a book entitled Help, I’m Lost! A Wanderer’s Guide to Salvation, which is now available through WestBow Press.

Christine Ortega Gaurkee 02T co-authored a book entitled All You Want to Know but Didn’t Think You Could Ask: Religions, Cults, and Popular Beliefs.

Jimmy R. Rock 03L 03T accepted a position as Assistant Attorney General for the District of Columbia.

Lara C. Byrd 04T is currently serving as a chaplain in the U.S. Navy at the Naval Submarine Station at Kings Bay, Ga.

Bocheol Chang 04T was recently appointed assistant professor of pastoral care and counseling at Busan Presbyterian University in Busan, Korea. He has also published two books: Life is Hope: Pastoral Care of the Suicidal and Pastoral Theological Understanding of Paul.

Andrew C. Smith 04T is now serving as the pastor of Holy Angels Catholic Church in Chicago. He also authored the book From the Gun to the Pulpit.

Jenny Cannon 04T and Kirkland Reynolds 06T welcomed a son, Nolan James Reynolds, on March 27, 2012.

Diana Kehoe 04T and Jack Kehoe welcomed a daughter, Sophia Victoria, on April 14, 2012.

Rachel Small 06T married Leslie Stokes 08T on June 16th. Rachel is serving as the associate pastor of Union Church in Berea, Ky.

Joseph J. Iarocci 07T was selected as the new Chief Executive Officer of the Greenleaf Center for Servant Leadership, an international non-profit organization.

Kevin Hankins 08T 10T received a master’s degree in educational leadership from Georgia State University in July.

Haden D. Conrad 09T is pastor at Chesapeake Avenue UMC in Chesapeake, Va.


Paige Swaim-Presley 10T is the executive director and senior pastor at the Seashore Mission in the Mississippi Conference of The United Methodist Church.

Michael A. Mule 11T is a teacher in the religion department at Xavier High School in New York, N.Y.

Kevin Murriel 11T has been appointed the pastor of youth ministry at Cascade United Methodist Church in Atlanta.

Mary Sweet 11T was appointed as a licensed local pastor to the Harbor Springs charge in the Grand Traverse District of the West Michigan Conference of The United Methodist Church.

Israel Diaz 12T accepted a position at Archbishop Edward McCarthy High School as a theology teacher.

In Memoriam

Harold W. Dorsey 41T

Samuel S. Barefield 49T 

O’Neal Jacobs Jr. 50T

Charles M. Bryan 51T 85T 

Ralph Lightsey 51T

Robert Knight Marshall 48C 51T

Robert Lee Kates 52T

Keyes W. Bowman, Jr. 53T

Thomas L. McMinn, Jr. 53T

George W. Whitaker, Jr. 53T

Fred Oswald Shirley 54T

Harry B. Alderman Sr. 55T

Arthur Brandenburg 55T

Ivan Blaine Emily 55T

Leonard A. Bates 56T

James N. Thompson 51OX 53C 57T

William E. “Bill” Harrison 58T

Russell L. Proctor 58T

Carol Ann Hunt Pierce 59T

Mildred Ball 60T 

Tom Hall Ivey, Jr. 60T

Henry Samuel Carter 61T

Charles H. Burton 61T

Ira Lee Andrews III 62T

Thomas G. Rogers Sr. 62T

Walter K. Williams 62T

Lewe S. Woodham 63T

Juel G. Sealey 64T

Charles R. Thomas, Jr. 66T

Robert N. Lynn 69T

Alexander C. Wisenbaker III 73T

James A. Graham 75T

Charles S. Stopford 75T

Aubrey W. Cole II 79T

Charles D. Wallom 80T 

Dan L. Brokaw 81T

Cecil M. Hayes 82T

Gerald Troutman 87T

Jeffery L. Brown 88T

Lewis E. Logan 88T 93T

Barnard L. Philpot Jr. 89T

Olive Long Kellum 93T

Larry R. Wynn 97T