Alumni Awarded University Honors

Candler School of Theology Alumni Awarded University Honors
May 26, 2023

Two Candler alumni have received recent honors from Emory University.

At the 2023 Emory Entrepreneur Awards held on April 20, Joel Floyd 08T received the Social Enterprise Award for his role as founder and president of English for a Lifetime Language Institute, an adult education initiative that provides immigrants with primary academic and vocational English skills crucial to their success in the U.S. Floyd was one of only 11 recipients of this year’s awards, representing some of the most inventive people in business.

An advocate for immigrant education and English language literacy, Floyd launched English for a Lifetime in 2012. He works as an adult education school leader to ensure that faculty, staff, and other internal stakeholders are provided with skill sets that usher in success for adult learning outcomes and workforce preparedness. In addition, Floyd leads professional development seminars for teachers across Georgia.

On April 28, Avis Williams 78Ox 98C 08T 18T accepted the William Norton Outstanding Alumnus/a Award from Oxford College of Emory University, presented to an alumnus who has shown exceptional dedication, loyalty, and innovation in service to Oxford.

Williams is currently the community liaison for the Putnam County Charter School System and has served on the boards of numerous community organizations. She served as pastor of Community Transformation for Lake Oconee Community Church from 2007 to 2018, organizing cultural, historical, and educational initiatives for students, parents, church, and community volunteers. Prior to her ministry work, she owned Envirohazard Consultants of Covington, an environmental, health, and safety consulting company that trained governmental agencies and local businesses in environmental assessments. With bachelor’s, master’s, and doctorate degrees all from Emory, Williams was Oxford’s 2022 Commencement speaker and served on Emory’s Twin Memorial committee, now the Selection committee.


Photos: Floyd (left) and Williams