From L-R: McFarland, Lartey, Snarey

Emory University Provost Claire Sterk installed three Candler faculty members to chaired professorships during the Spring Convocation service in Cannon Chapel on Tuesday, January 14. 

Receiving new titles were John Snarey as Franklin N. Parker Professor of Human Development and Ethics; Emmanuel Y. Lartey as L. Bevel Jones III Professor of Pastoral Theology, Care, and Counseling; and Ian A. McFarland as Bishop Mack B. and Rose Stokes Professor of Theology.

Installation in a named, endowed chair is the highest honor a faculty member can receive. Snarey, Lartey, and McFarland join eight existing endowed chairs on Candler’s faculty.

The Parker Chair
Franklin Nutting Parker served as Candler’s second dean from 1919 to 1937, and briefly as Emory’s acting chancellor. Under his leadership, Candler opened its enrollment to both non-Methodists and women for the first time and established required supervised field work at Candler, which eventually became the school’s Contextual Education program.

Emory University established the Parker Chair in his honor to recognize outstanding research, teaching and service. 

John Snarey, the newly installed Franklin N. Parker Professor of Human Development and Ethics, is a widely published developmental/cultural psychologist and educator who has served on the Candler faculty since 1987. A Fellow of the American Psychological Association and the American Educational Research Association, and Past President of the Association for Moral Education, Snarey is an associated professor in Emory’s Department of Psychology and the Division of Educational Studies in addition to his role in the Christianity and Culture department at Candler. 

Dean Jan Love says Snarey’s celebrated and internationally recognized scholarship, distinguished service to both Emory University and Candler School of Theology, and excellence in and dedication to teaching supported his appointment to the Parker Chair. 

“Professor Snarey has for a number of years been regarded as among the most accomplished scholars in his field of human development and ethics,” she says. “His scholarly achievements warrant a chaired professorship.”

The Jones Chair
L. Bevel Jones III graduated from Emory University in 1946 and from Candler School of Theology in 1949. His pastorates in the Methodist church reflected dedication to strong community and ecumenical engagement. He was one of the 79 signers of what is now known as “The Ministers’ Manifesto,” a public appeal letter decrying school segregation published on the front page of The Atlanta Constitution in 1957. Elected a bishop of The United Methodist Church in 1984, he served the Charlotte, North Carolina Area until his retirement in 1996.

With the support of Jones’s friends and colleagues, Candler recently established the L. Bevel Jones III Chair in the Practice of Ministry in his honor to recognize his outstanding leadership in the church and community and his unstinting support of the school.

Emmanuel Lartey, member of the Candler faculty since 2004, is the inaugural holder of the Jones Chair. He is noted for his many accomplishments, including extensive and pioneering scholarship, service to Candler, excellence in teaching, devotion to mentoring, and leadership in and service to the church. He also teaches in Emory's Graduate Division of Religion in the Person, Community, and Religious Life Program.

Dean Love points to Lartey’s longstanding dedication to practical ministry among differing traditions as a key facet suiting him to the Jones Chair.

“In particular, Professor Lartey is renowned for his cross-cultural work in pastoral theology,” she notes. “The Jones Chair, which honors one of the great leaders of The United Methodist Church in the Southeast and particularly at Emory, is designated for a professor in the practice of ministry, and pastoral care, counseling, and theology is a field in which the practice of ministry can have wonderfully powerful implications and outcomes.” 

The Stokes Chair
Mack B. Stokes taught for 31 years on Candler’s faculty and was the school’s first Franklin N. Parker Professor of Systematic Theology. He also served as associate dean for 18 years and later as acting dean.

As director of Emory’s Graduate Division of Religion, Stokes helped inaugurate the university’s PhD programs in theological studies in 1958. Elected a bishop of The United Methodist Church in 1972, he was assigned to the Jackson, Mississippi Area, where he served until his retirement in 1980. Altogether, he served Emory as a faculty member, administrator, or member of the Board of Trustees for more than 60 years. A devoted teacher and desegregationist in the Atlanta public schools, Mack’s wife, Rose, was a vital partner in his many endeavors.

In 2008, the Stokes family established the Bishop Mack B. and Rose Y. Stokes Chair in Theology to recognize the outstanding leadership of Mack and Rose at Candler; their deep dedication to Emory University, Candler School of Theology, and the church; their determination in the Wesleyan spirit to join religion and reason; and their significant community engagement at home and abroad. 

A member of the faculty since 2005, Ian McFarland was nominated to the Stokes Chair in honor of his distinguished and internationally recognized scholarship, his dedicated service to Candler and Emory University, excellence in teaching, devotion to both students and faculty, and leadership in and service to the church.

The inaugural holder of the Stokes Chair, McFarland also currently serves as associate dean of faculty and academic affairs at Candler.

“The Stokes Chair is designated for a professor in theology, a designation that Professor McFarland fits beautifully,” says Love. “He is well established as a very productive scholar in systematic theology.”