Board of Advisors

The Board of Advisors of Candler School of Theology is charged with advising the dean and senior staff on topics of strategic significance to Candler’s mission, particularly those related to the church, the communities Candler serves, and theological education. The Board is also charged with being ambassadors for the School. The Board of Advisors may be called on to review and offer reflection on strategic planning, curriculum, and topics raised by the dean and senior leadership, as well as matters brought by members of the Board.

Additionally, members may be called on to assist Candler School of Theology with student recruitment and fundraising. As ambassadors, the Board of Advisors assists Candler School of Theology by sharing information about the School with families, friends, colleagues and the public in hopes that these external constituencies will better understand Candler’s mission to educate faithful and creative leaders for the church’s ministries in the world. The members will meet twice annually and shall have no policy making or governing authority.

Board of Advisors 2022-23

Bishop Sue Haupert-Johnson
North Georgia UMC Annual Conference

Mr. Thomas Kemper
Retired- General Board of Global Ministries

The Rev. Dr. William Oslin Britt IV
Peachtree Road United Methodist Church

Mr. John Allen Mast
Truist Financial Corp.

The Rev. Carol Thornton Cavin-Dillon
West End United Methodist Church

Mr. H. Bruce McEver
Berkshire Capital Securities LLC

Dr. Wallace Davis Chappell, Jr.
Brentwood United Methodist Church

Jere W. Morehead, J.D.
University of Georgia

The Rev. Susannah Mildred Davis
Kirkwood United Church of Christ

Mr. Craig C. Mullins
Mullins Associates

The Rev. William Edward Flippin, Jr.
Evangelical Lutheran Church

Mrs. Karen Webster Parks
St. James Alpharetta UMC

Bishop Janice Riggle Huie
Texas UMC Annual Conference

Dr. Walker L. Ray, I
Physician (Retired)

Mrs. Jill Cornelius Irvin
Deloitte & Touche USA LLP

Dr. Kenneth L. Samuel
Victory Church

Bishop Teresa E. Jefferson-Snorton
Fifth Episcopal District, CME Church




Dean Janice Love
Mary Lee Hardin Willard Dean

Dr. Lori Cromwell
Chief Business Officer

The Rev. Dr. Ted A. Smith
Associate Dean of Faculty

The Rev. Dr. Brett Opalinski
Assistant Dean of Methodist Studies

The Rev. Dr. Teresa L. Fry Brown
Associate Dean and Academic Affairs

Mr. Bill Doerr
Assistant Dean of Advancement and Alumni Engagement

The Rev. Khalia J. Williams
Associate Dean of Worship and Spiritual Formation

Mrs. Laurel Davis Hanna
Director of Communications

Dr. Richard Manly Adams, Jr.
Director of Pitts Theology Library

Dr. Samuel J. Martinez
Assistant Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid

Dr. Ryan Paul Bonfiglio
Director of The Candler Foundry

The Rev. Allison Henderson-Brooks
Assistant Dean of Students